San Beda Sea Lions NCAA swim champions for 12 years in a row


04:07 AM September 7th, 2013

September 7th, 2013 04:07 AM


Winning the championship trophy a few years in a row is no easy feat; what more if you have been winning for more than a decade? That is something the San Beda Sea Lions were able to do—establish a 12-year swim dynasty, making the team a powerhouse in NCAA swimming.

The Sea Lions are coached by Gavino Roxas, a former Sea Lion himself, who says accomplishing such a feat was never an easy task. Before its 12-year winning streak, the Sea Lions always placed runner up. But the championship trophy that had long eluded the team became theirs in 2002, the year the  long championship drought was broken.

Aside from the men’s seniors swim trophy, the San Beda Sea Lions also bagged the women’s championship trophy for the third straight year.

The San Beda Sea Cubs, meanwhile, bagged first-runner up honors, placing only second to La Salle Green Hills.

Disclaimer: Comments do not represent the views of We reserve the right to exclude comments which are inconsistent with our editorial standards. FULL DISCLAIMER

For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.