Hans Sy leads SKAL Makati awardees | Inquirer Lifestyle
Netflix was the big winner at Sunday’s Emmys, bagging best drama and limited series awards for “The Crown” and “The Queen’s Gambit” to…
Since the pandemic hit, a lot of questions surfaced regarding the future of fashion rental. But there is one question which stands out,…

Hans Sy leads SKAL Makati awardees

SKAL International Makati has announced this year’s recipients of its Tourism Personality Awards. The awarding is doubly significant as it falls on the 25th year of the awards and the 34th anniversary of SKAL International Makati.


The ceremony will be held on Sept. 3, 6 p.m., at the New World Makati Hotel.


“We are honored to announce the distinguished awardees in this year’s SKAL International Tourism Personality Awards whose work efforts and undertakings have immensely contributed to the growth of the tourism industry,” said awards committee chair Jaime Bautista.


The SKAL International Tourism Personality Awards is held with the cooperation of the Department of Tourism, Tourism Infrastructure and Enterprise Zone Authority, Tourism Promotions Board, Philippine Amusement and Gaming Corp., Rotary Club of Manila and New World Makati Hotel.


The awards are given yearly to individuals and entities whose achievements and contributions have made a significant impact on the tourism industry.


This year’s awardees and their categories are: SM Prime Holdings Inc. CEO Hans Sy, Integrated Tourism Enterprises; Kris Aquino, Hall of Fame TV Host; GMA-7’s Jessica Soho, Tourism Personality in Broadcast Journalism; Philippine Star columnist Cito Beltran, Hospitality Education; Star Group of Publications president and CEO Miguel Belmonte, Newspaper of the Year; ABS-CBN COO Carlo Lopez Katigbak, TV Station of the Year; The Amazing Race Philippines, Tourism Reality TV Show; Bimby Yap, Youngest Tourism Media Personality; Kris TV, Hall of Fame for Travel Show;


Golden Arches Development Corp. (McDonalds Philippines) chair George Yang, International Fast Food Chain; Rustan Coffee Corp. president Noey Tantoco Lopez, International Coffee Company (Starbucks Philippines); Stores Specialists, Inc. EVP Anthony Tantoco Huang Jr., Shopping Tourism;


Holiday Inn and Suites Makati general manager Christian Pirodon, Hotel; Huma Island Resort and Spa owner Dr. Hamad Al Tuwaijri, Resort; New World Makati Hotel, Best Hotel for 2015; Jerry Limpe, Airline General Sales Agent; Rajah Travel Corp. president Aileen Clemente, Travel Agency; Philippine Airlines senior vice president for operations Ismael Augusto Gozon, Airline; Abdallah Okasha, Overseas Skalleague;


International School of Sustainable Tourism president Dr. Mina Gabor, Sustainable Tourism Development; PEP (Premier Event Plus) group president Joel Pascual, Exhibition; Tourism Promotions Board COO Domingo Ramon Enerio III, Government Service for Tourism Promotions and Immigration Commissioner Siegfred Mison, Government Service.

SKAL International is a worldwide association of travel and tourism professionals who promote global tourism and friendship. Founded in 1932 in Paris, it is the only international group that brings together all the branches of the travel and tourism industry.


SKAL Makati was founded in August 1981 and is the second-oldest club in the country after SKAL Manila.