Internat’l conference on performance studies held this week | Inquirer Lifestyle

Internat’l conference on performance studies held this week

THE PERFORMANCE Studies Philippines (PSP) will hold an international conference on Nov. 5-8 at De La Salle University (DLSU), Manila, and University of the Philippines (UP) Diliman.

Called “PSi#21 Philippines: Sa Tagilid na Yuta | On Tilted Earth: Performance, Disaster, Resilience in Archipelagic Space,” the conference seeks to gather scholars, researchers, artists and practitioners, and explore the vast “field” of studying and doing performance in the country.

Keynote speakers are: Datu Migketay Victorine Saway, leader of the Talaandig School of Living Tradition; award-winning Filipino-Australian writer Merlinda Bobis of the University of Wollongong; Paul Rae, performance scholar at the University of Melbourne; and Maaike Bleeker, professor of theatre studies at the Utrecht University-the Netherlands and president of Psi. Jazmin Badong Llana, DLSU performance studies expert, serves as PSP conference convener.

Rae, senior editor of Theatre Research International, will also hold a workshop on international publishing on Nov. 5, 8 a.m.-12p.m., at DLSU.

Panel topics and subthemes include: Fluid States Philippines roro journeys; disaster, memory, media and research; theater advocates for resilience; performance as response to large scale trauma; displacement, encounter and response; resilience stories of indigenous communities; women, spirituality, ecology; cultures of disaster; public space performance and the art of protest; among others.

Speakers, panelists and performers include Bree Hadley, Mick Douglas, Rosalie Zerrudo, Lutgardo Labad, Em Mendez, Lindsay Evan Goss, Ella Parry-Davies, Cheryll Ruth Soriano, Belen Calingacion, Gail Billones, Marco Alfino Miranda, Hayato Kosuge, Cecilia de la Paz, Rina Garcia Chua, Steven Fernandez, Richard Madrilejos, Joshua Lim So, Rina Angela Corpus, Antonio Contreras, Beng Cabangon, Bonifacio Ilagan, Flaudette May Datuin, Marjorie Evasco, Rody Vera, Catherine Diamond, Eric Divinagracia, Basilio Esteban Villaruz, Clarissa Chikiamco, Joseph Palis, Felipe Cervera, Lisa Ito-Tapang, Roselle Pineda, Eileen Legaspi Ramirez, and Sarah Salazar.

Aside from DLSU and UP, the conference is supported by the National Commission on Culture and the Arts Subcommittee on Dramatic Arts, Philippine Educational Theatre Association, Lusong Culture and Arts Network Inc., Sipat Lawin Ensemble.

There is no registration fee, but slots are limited. Meals will not be served. For inquiries or complete details of the program, e-mail [email protected], or visit Facebook “Bns Creativewritingcenter.”