CCP to launch Ani 39 literary journal | Lifestyle.INQ

OCTOBER 27, 2022

Ani 39 Cover image


Ninety-one writers who authored a total of 182 literary works are featured in the 39th issue of the official literary journal of the Cultural Center of the Philippines.


Ani 39 themed “Kahayupan/The Animal Kingdom” covering the period of 2015 – 2016 will be launched on September 23 at the CCP Silangan Hall at 5 p.m. The Intertextual Division, formerly known as Literary Arts Division, produced Ani 39 as part of the celebration of CCP’s 47th anniversary, which will start in September.


The Children’s Literature section titled “Mga Akdang Pambata” is expanded, in line with CCP’s thrust this year of making the cultural institution more open to families. Dr. Luis P. Gatmaitan, guest section editor of ANI 39, was able to gather works by the best writers for children.


Intertextual Division head and Ani 39 editor-in-chief Herminio S. Beltran, Jr. explained that in this issue, “Some writers use animals in Philippine mythology or folk forms to comment on contemporary life.” He also noted that “Others draw parallels between human relationships and relating with animals, particularly pets. Such reflections inevitably shed light on the human condition. The theme led some writers to take a second look on their community’s folklore and social life. Still, others engaged in the creative activity to examine how humans treat so-called non-humans as well as test the limits of human language and understanding to interpret reality from the point of view of animals.”


The literary works are in Filipino, Ilokano, Akeanon, Bikol, Bikol-Naga, Chavacano, Kinaray-a, and English. The featured writers are: Jose Marte A. Abueg, Jim Pascual Agustin, Vijae O. Alquisola, Jenalyn J. Aman, Mark Angeles, Rebecca T. Añonuevo, Genevieve Mae Aquino, Mark Joseph Z. Arisgado, Mark Anthony B. Austria, Elbert O. Baeta, Gil S. Beltran, Herminio S. Beltran, April Mae M. Berza, Julius D. Bulahan, Anabelle Calleja, Ernesto Carandang, F. Jordan Carnice;


Dexter Cayanes, Jose Jason L. Chancoco, Melchor F. Cichon, Jasmine Cruz, M. Protacio de Guzman, Rodrigo dela Peña, Jr., Francis Gallano Delgado,  Charlie Anne I. Espiritu, Martin G. Genodepa, Joel Jacob, Sabina Marites Lañada, Marra PL. Lanot, Ireneo Jr. Lit, Nestor L. Lucena, Francis C. Macansantos, Priscilla Supnet Macansantos, Shur C. Mangilaya, Noahlyn Maranan, Vim Nadera, Ben D. Nillo, Richard P. Nollen, Allen Lenard Ocampo, Aldrin Pentero, Padmapani L. Perez, Honesto M. Pesimo, Jr., Allan Popa, Frank Rivera, Glen A. Sales, Louie Jon A. Sanchez, E. San Juan, Jr., John Patrick Solano, Ariel Tabag, John Iremil Teodoro, Glenn Ford B. Tolentino, Oswald A. Valente;



Hope Sabanpan Yu, Jeffrey R. Ancheta, Ma. Rita Aranda, Emmanuel T. Barrameda, Ludwig Jan Batuigas, Janet Batuigas, Lorna A. Billones, Rina Garcia Chua, Joey Chua, Efren J. Domingo, U Z. Eliserio, Susan Lara, Andrian Legaspi, Perry Mangilaya, Eilyn L. Nidea, Ian Kenneth L. Orasa, Wilhelmina Orozco, Chuckberry J. Pascual, Ma. Angelica Edralyn R. Tuazon;



Raul Esquillo Asis, Ana Maria Cuevas-Oliveros, Eugene Y. Evasco, Shur C. Mangilaya, Marilyn Marquez Mercado, Jasmin Tresvalles, Adelle Villarey, Christine S. Bellen, Emerson Bengco, Joshene Bersales, Grace D. Chong, Francis Gallano Delgado, Zarah C. Gagatiga, Luis P. Gatmaitan, Ferdinand Pisigan Jarin, Christine F. Godinez Ortega, Carla M. Pacis, Rosales S. Pagnamitan, Flor Salanga, and Herbel Santiago. Rosvie Corcuera is the managing editor and launch coordinator and Rommel Manto is the layout artist and designer of the publication.


During the launch, ANI 39 will be sold at a discounted rate.


The Intertextual Division led by Herminio Beltran, Jr. is comprised of Beverly Siy, senior culture and arts officer; Jasmin Tresvalles, culture and arts officer; and Nestor Lucena, clerk.


For updates on “Ani 39: Kahayupan/The Animal Kingdom”, like us on Facebook: CCP Intertextual Division Programs; follow us on Twitter: ccpintertextual (ccpintertextual) on Twitter and on tumblr:; or email and