Numbers | Lifestyle.INQ


1898: Year that Philippine independence was declared. Filipino revolutionaries under Gen. Emilio Aguinaldo proclaimed the country’s independence from Spanish rule on June 12, 1898 in Kawit, Cavite

1946: Year that the United States recognized Philippine independence through the Treaty of Manila, signed on July 4.  July 4 was observed in the Philippines as Independence Day until then President Diosdado Macapagal moved the celebration to June 12 in 1962.

28: Proclamation signed by President Disodado Macapagal on May 12, 1962 which changed the country’s Independence Day celebration from July 4 to June 12.

1 million: Estimated number of attendees of the Philippine Independence Day celebration in 1962, the first year that the event was commemorated on June 12.

1964: Year that Congress passed Republic Act 4166, which designated June 12 as Independence Day.

P200 million: Estimated income generated by the National Centennial Commission from August 1997 to June 1998, from the sale of souvenir items and memorabilia marketed for the country’s Centennial celebrations.

Compiled by Schatzi Quodala, Inquirer Research

Source: Philippine Presidents 100 Years,,, PDI Archives