Leah Naomi Green wins Walt Whitman Award | Lifestyle.INQ

OCTOBER 27, 2022

Leah Naomi Green, author of "The Ones We Have",
Leah Naomi Green, author of chapbook “The Ones We Have”, won the Walt Whitman Award for debut poet. Image: Virginia Humanities official website

NEW YORK — A debut poet from Greensboro, North Carolina, has received a prize named for one of the United States’ greatest writers.

Leah Naomi Green won the Walt Whitman Award, the Academy of American Poets announced Monday. The award is given to emerging poets and comes with a $5,000 cash prize and a six-week, all-expenses-paid residency at the Civitella Ranieri Center in Umbria, Italy.

Graywolf Press will publish her first book, “More Extravagant Feast”, in April 2020. The academy will purchase thousands of copies and distribute them to members. Green teaches at Washington and Lee University and her work has been published in Tin House and the Southern Review.

Previous winners of the Whitman award, established in 1975, include Jenny Xie (2017) and Emily Skaja (2018). CE/JB


W.S. Merwin, prize-winning poet of nature, dies at 91

Poetry sales rise — thanks to millennials search of meaning, clarity

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.