Theater, dance, music stars receive Leaf Awards | Lifestyle.INQ

OCTOBER 27, 2022

Organizers of the Philippine Leaf Awards (Live Entertainment, Arts and Festivals), a new group of theater practitioners and teachers formed to recognize Filipino artists nationwide and their works, recently awarded individuals in the fields of theater education, classical dance performance, dance education, music, public relations for arts and culture, arts and culture media advocacy, leadership in arts and cultural festivals, and theater management.

Seven persons were bestowed the Leaf Presidential Award for excellence in their respective fields: Joselito “Toots” Tolentino, Cecile Guidote Alvarez, Peter Macrohon, Guimaras Gov. Samuel Gumarin (Manggahan Festival 2019); Romel Flogen, Lucien Letaba and Dulag, Leyte Mayor Joy Que (Karatong Festival).

Eight persons were given the Golden Leaf Award for excellence in their respective fields: Ricardo Abad, Shirley Halili-Cruz, Dulce, Pablo Tariman and Amadís Ma. Guerrero, Chris Millado, Lisa Macuja-Elizalde and Fred Elizalde.

Leaf Awards recognizes Filipino artists nationwide

In the Music categories, the following were cited for outstanding work, either as solo performers or as an ensemble/group for direction: Alisah Bonaobra (Ephesus/Tribu); Jean Kiley (Bar 360, Resorts World); Draybers (Bar 360); Erik Santos and Yeng Constantino, Gerald Santos (The Theatre at Solaire); Anton Diva (Cuneta Astrodome); Dulce (Magnificat Concert, Antipolo Church); John Prats (Extraordinary Y); Erik Santos and Yeng Constantino (Ephesus/Tribu RCBC Auditorium); and “Manila, Maalala Mo Kaya” (Plaza Amado Hernandez, Tondo, Manila).

Theater, dance and festivals

Theater categories led the pack with 20 awards for outstanding performances in plays, musicals, special events and performance art: “Noli Me Tangere” (opera); “Katsuri” (Tanghalang Pilipino); Shiela Valderrama-Matinez (“Passion,” Philippine Opera Company); Vien King (“Passion,” POC); Uyat Artista (Angeles City); Rodel Mercado (Pesa 70th anniversary); Riki Benedicto (Ayas July/Dulaang Filipino, College of St. Benilde); Jose Jeffrey Camañag and Jerry Sibal (“Noli Me Tangere”); Jayson Gantan Pabalan (mural, Jocson College).

“Manila Notes” (ensemble, Tanghalang Pilipino); Carla Guevara-Laforteza (“Ang Huling El Bimbo,” Resorts World); Juancho Gabriel (“Spring Awakening,” Ateneo Blue Repertory); “Spring Awakening” (ensemble, Ateneo Blue Repertory): Herminigildo Ranera for musical direction (“Noli Me Tangere,” J&S Productions); Missy Maramara (“Stop Kiss”/Music Artes); Roeder Camañag (“Ang Dressing Room,” Dulaang UP); Stella Cañete (“Ang Tahanan ni Bernarda Alba,” Dulaang UP); Norman Peñaflorida (Artist Playground); “Tao Po” (Rise Up/Juana Change); “Sleeping Beauty” (Kids Acts Phils.); “Hanggang Isang Araw” (UP Dulaang Laboratoryo); “Nia and Anwar/The Whale Shark Tale” (Gloria’s Fantasyland, Dapitan City); “Imbukad” (Special events, Belison, Antique); and Rodel Mercado (70th anniversary, Federation of Electrical Suppliers).

In the Dance categories, the following were given Leaf awards for outstanding work: “Panata at Panalangin,” Sinukwan Kapampangan; Locsin Dance Workshop, Davao City; University of Santo Tomas, Salingawi Dance Troupe, (school-based); Kalilayan Folkloric Dance Troupe (Catanauan, Quezon [community-based]); and Sindaw Philippines, professional.

Winners in the outstanding festival category are Sublian Festival, Batangas City; Fiesta Republica, Malolos City; Bambanti Festival, Isabela; Abra Gov. Joy Bernos, Abrenian Kawayan Festival organizer; Val Lozada, director, Kaliga ‘Tu Sur, Tandag, Suriago del Sur; Nilo Agustin, director, Bambanti Festival, Isabela; Rudy Reveche, Bacolod City; Stephen Biadoma, Abrenian Kawayan Festival, Bangued, Abra; Victor Hao Cuenco, choreographer, Buyogan Festival, Cebu; and George Kimboy, choreographer, Kulintangan Festival, Datu Piang Maguindanao.—CONTRIBUTED