2020 Gintong Aklat awardees announced | Lifestyle.INQ
Tom Holland and Zendaya have undeniable on-screen chemistry. From sharing the stage together in the MCU’s recent Spiderman movies to their public appearances…
Gintong Aklat trophies

2020 Gintong Aklat awardees announced

Gintong Aklat trophies

For the past four decades, Book Development Association of the Philippines (BDAP) has been honoring publishers for excellence in bookmaking. Established in 1981, The Gintong Aklat Awards is held every two years to give recognition to the cream of the crop in local publishing, evaluating books based on overall excellence. Twenty-three publishers nominated books to the Gintong Aklat Awards 2020, which is sponsored by the National Book Development Board (NBDB). The awarding ceremony for the 15 winners and finalists was streamed live on Nov. 17. Here is the list of winners:

“Hans Christian Andersen and Jose Rizal: From Denmark to the Philippines’’ edited by Jan Top Christensen and published by Anvil Publishing Inc., for Best Book Design.

“Mga Tula (1965-1989)” by Rolando S. Tinio and “Di Achichúk: Poems and Images from Batanes” by Dorian S. Merina both published by Ateneo de Manila University Press for Poetry in Filipino and English, respectively. “Tiempo Muerto” (Ateneo de Manila University Press) by Caroline S. Hau for Fiction in English and Kristian Sendon Kordero’s first book of fiction “Kulto ni Santiago’’ (University of the Philippines Press.), for Fiction in Filipino.

“Hans Christian Andersen and Jose Rizal: From Denmark to the Philippines,’’ winner for Best Design

Winners in other categories are: “Direk: Essays on Filipino Filmmakers’’ (De La Salle University Publishing House), edited by Clodualdo del Mundo, Jr. and Shirley O. Lua, for Arts and Humanities category; Ige Ramos’ “Lasa ng Republika: Dila at Bandila” (Anvil Publishing, Inc.) for Food category; “Investing in the Unseen: Cases on Biodiversity Conservation” (Ateneo de Manila University Press), authored by Benjamin C. Bagadion Jr., for Natural and Applied Sciences category; and “Sakunang Darating, Saklolo’y Tayo Rin: Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Handbook for Academic Institutions; “The University of the Philippines Experience” (University of the Philippines Press) by Ferdinand C. Llanes, Violeta V. Bautista, Ma. Leonora D.L. Francisco, Alfredo Mahar Francisco A. Lagmay, Emmanuel M. Luna, Benito M. Pacheco and Eric SM Talens, in the Science and Technology category.

“Philippine Cartography” (Vibal Foundation Inc.) by Carlos Quirino, edited by Carlos Madrid and Leovino Ma. Garcia, won in the Social Sciences category.

“Philippine Cartography,” winner for Social Sciences

Completing the list of winners are the following: “Kapag Sumalupa ang Gunita” (Ateneo de Naga University Press) by Rogelio Sicat and “Made in Japan: Stories of Japanese-Filipino Children” (Ateneo de Manila University Press) by Rey Ventura (editor) for Creative Non-fiction in Filipino and English, respectively; “Two Women as Specters of History: Lakambini and Indigo Child” (Ateneo de Manila University Press) by Rody Vera for the Drama category; “A Night Bird Sings of Blindness and Fear” (OMF Literature Inc.), by Janina Marie Rivera for Inspiration and “Existential Courage: A Survival Guide for Your Existential Crisis (And All the Ones after That),” authored by Arriane Serafico and published by Summit Publishing, for the Self-help category.

BDAP president Ani Almario believes that books were especially important to Filipinos during the pandemic. NBDB)Chair Dante Ang Jr. applauded BDAP’s initiative to elevate the quality of locally published books.