USTv Awards marks 10th anniversary | Lifestyle.INQ

OCTOBER 27, 2022

CAST of “Please Be Careful with My Heart” during the 2013 USTv awards night PHOTOS BY JOHN DANIEL HIRRO
CAST of “Please Be Careful with My Heart” during the 2013 USTv awards night PHOTOS BY JOHN DANIEL HIRRO
ANGEL Locsin receives her award while UST Rector Fr.Herminio Dagohoy, OP, looks on.

The USTV Students’ Choice  given by the University of Santo Tomas (UST) will hold its 10th awarding ceremonies on Feb. 20 at the UST Quadricentennial Pavilion.


The USTv Awards recognizes TV programs and personalities that promote Filipino Christian values. Theme this year is “Makabuluhang telebisyon, hinuhubog ng kabataan ngayon.”


USTv ushers in its second decade with a new trophy design and rationalized number of awards.


FR. ISIDRO Abaño, OP, USTv Awards founder

The number of awards has been reduced to 24 from 33 last year. Four main categories—Religious; News and Public Affairs; Entertainment; and Special Awards—comprise the awards.


ABS-CBN leads the race with 40 nominations. GMA has 17 while GMA News TV has four. TV5 has five nominations and UNTV has one for “Ang Dating Daan.”


Nominees include Toni Gonzaga, Anne Curtis and Karylle Tatlonghari for Students’ Choice of Variety Show Host; Kim Atienza, Ryan Agoncillo and Jessica Soho for Student Leaders’ Choice of TV Personality; and Ted Failon, Korina  Sanchez and Soho for Students’ Choice of Male/Female News Host.


Among the programs nominated are “Eat Bulaga,” “It’s Showtime” and “ASAP 18” for Best Variety Show; “The Voice of the Philippines,” “Minute to Win It” and “Pilipinas Got Talent, Season 4” for Best Reality/Game Show; and “I-Witness,” “Kapuso Mo, Jessica Soho” and “Reporter’s Notebook” for Best TV Program.


DIRECTOR Chito Roño with Fr.Winston Cabading, OP, UST secretary-general

To be unveiled is a new trophy,  which modifies the original  with the addition of Catholic emblems on top of the three cylinders, signifying the three core values of UST—competence, commitment and compassion. The original design was done by artist Jaime de los Santos, former dean of the College of Fine Arts and Design.


Introduced in 2005, the USTv Students’ Choice Awards was founded by Fr. Isidro C. Abaño, OP, director of the UST Museum of Arts and Sciences and at that time, the university secretary-general.


Voters in the awards are the 40,000-strong student population of the Pontifical University. They cast their votes online via e-Leap (e-Learning Access Program), which may be accessed through mobiles or computers. Their choices are confirmed by a board of judges, composed of media experts, student leaders and school administrators.


The Office of the Secretary-General, led by Fr. Winston F. Cabading, OP, is the main organizer of the event.

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.