Ateneo Class 1986 joins alumni homecoming | Lifestyle.INQ
Tom Holland and Zendaya have undeniable on-screen chemistry. From sharing the stage together in the MCU’s recent Spiderman movies to their public appearances…

Ateneo Class 1986 joins alumni homecoming

The Ateneo de Manila College Class of 1986 graduated two months after the People Power Revolution of February 1986.


Their four years in college were marked with political and economic upheaval, that saw the assassination of Sen. Ninoy Aquino in 1983, the holding of snap elections, and the People Power Revolution that led to the end of the Marcos rule.


For the 601 young men and women in the batch, their graduation in the summer of 1986 was a euphoric and memorable day. It has been an interesting journey since then.


Today, 30 years after, there is an overwhelming sense of gratitude, but coupled with a sense of disquiet on where the country and the world at large is headed.


Today, Dec. 3, the batch joins other jubilarians at Tatak Asul, the Ateneo de Manila Grand Alumni Homecoming.


As silver jubilarians in 2011, the batch launched the Ateneo College ’86 Freedom Fund for the following beneficiaries: the Ateneo Scholarship Foundation, the Mision de la Compania de Jesus for elderly and infirm Jesuits, the Maria Lena Buhay Memorial Foundation, and the Kythe Foundation.


The first batch scholar, Faye Marie Gamez, graduated in June with a BS Applied Mathematics degree with specialization in mathematical finance.


Over 100 members of the batch attended a thanksgiving Mass and reunion party on Nov. 12. Fr. Jun Bugtas S.J., one of the five Jesuits from the batch, celebrated Mass.


Onnie Martin and Rolly Trinidad hosted the entertainment, showcasing batch talent—Marissa Alejandro, John Gomez, Mon Ramos and Randy Estrellado. Pin Cojuangco-Guingona, Jean Yap-Paterno, Roselen Lee-Ocampo, Jay Singson, Mio Ozaeta and Kiril Caral were the lead organizers.


Batch ‘86 is raising funds to support the rebuilding of Ateneo de Zamboanga University after a devastating fire.

Ateneo de Zamboanga was established in 1912, and is the second oldest Jesuit school in the Philippines, after the Ateneo de Manila.


Fr. Karel San Juan S.J., the class valedictorian of the batch, has been president of Ateneo de Zamboanga since 2013.


Contact the fundraising committee led by Randy Estrellado ([email protected]), Francis Ceballos ([email protected]), or Dimples Reyes Rara ([email protected]).