Catriona, Shamcey, Venus grace Mutia Ti La Union pageant | Lifestyle.INQ

OCTOBER 27, 2022

CITY OF SAN FERNANDO, LA UNION – World-class Filipina beauty queens Catriona Gray, Shamcey Supsup-Lee, and Venus Raj lit up the 2020 Mutia ti La Union pageant stage with their charm and grace.


Newly-crowned Mutia ti La Union  Divina Marie Villanueva (center) is joined on stage by 2018 Miss Universe Catriona Gray (right) and 2019 Mutia ti La Unio winner Anne Margareth Sanglay. /ARMIN P. ADINA


Catriona, who was crowned 2018 Miss Universe, served as chair of the board of judges of the pageant at the Poro Point Baywalk in the City of San Fernando on Monday.


Shamcey, 2011 Miss Universe third runner-up, and now national director of the Miss Universe Philippines organization, also served as one of the judges.


Venus, the 2010 Miss Universe fourth runner-up, hosted the coronation night.


The people of La Union also got an additional treat with Kapamilya hunk Marco Gumabao who sat in the panel of judges, while fellow ABS-CBN artists Billy Crawford and Robbie Domingo joined Venus on stage.


Kapamilya singer-actor Iñigo Pascual serenaded the pageant’s contestants and the audience as well.


The 2020 Mutia ti La Union pageant was the culmination of the celebration of the province’s 170th foundation anniversary.


The candidates served as spokespersons promoting their respective hometown’s agricultural bounty and tourist attractions, in support of La Union’s vision of becoming the agri-tourism capital of the north.


Divina Marie Villanueva from Sudipen, bested the 19 other candidates for the crown.


She will also serve as the province’s official ambassador for its agri-tourism campaign, and other programs.


She was crowned by last year’s winner, Anne Margareth Sanglay, who also represented Sudipen.


Villanueva also received the Mutia Fashion Model, Best Agri-Tourism Campaign, and Best in Socio-Economic Activities awards.


Best in Talent awardee Fe Ladyma Abacco from Rosario was also proclaimed Mutia ti La Union-Turismo, while Best in Swimwear winner and Miss Beautiful Smile Shaira May Soria from Pugo was crowned Mutia ti La Union-Agrikultura.


Balaoan’s Christine Jan Padua bagged first runner-up honors, while Miss Body Beautiful Roxanne Danielle Sanglay from the City of San Fernando was second runner-up.

Newly-crowned Mutia ti La Union Divina Marie Villanueva (center) is flanked by (from left) second runner-up Roxanne Danielle Sanglay, Mutia-Agrikultura Shaira May Soria, Mutia-Turismo Fe Ladyma Abacco, and first runner-up Christine Jan Padua. /ARMIN P. ADINA


The provincial pageant went through a series of transformations since its inception as the “Miss La Union” contest in 1978.


After several editions held years apart, the beauty tilt took a hiatus in 1992 and was revived in 2000 as the “Millennium Mutya ng La Union” competition.


Starting 2011, the “Mutya ng La Union” pageant was included as one of the key activities of the province’s founding anniversary celebration.


In 2012, by virtue of the “La Union Iloko Code,” the pageant became known as “Mutia ti La Union.”


Some of its notable alumnae include 1990 Mutya ng Pilipinas-World Antonette Ann Ballesteros, 2001 Binibining Pilipinas-World Gilrhea Quinzon, 2002 Miss Philippines-Fire Sheryll Ducusin, 2007 Miss Philippines-Ecotourism Kathrina Bautista, 2013 Miss Tourism World Philippines Aiyana Camille Mickiewicz, and 2016 Miss Diamond of the World Christine Joy Picardal.


Its 2017 titleholder, Carina Cariño, finished second in the 2017 Miss Millennial pageant on the GMA-7 noontime show “Eat…Bulaga!”



She is now an official candidate of the 2020 Binibining Pilipinas pageant.