Long-running ‘Martir sa Golgota’ goes to CCP March 22-23 | Lifestyle.INQ

OCTOBER 27, 2022

The Manila Mobile Theater Foundation (also known as Tanghalang Sta. Ana) will stage its pre-Lenten production, “Martir Sa Golgota,” a senakulo based on the life and passion of Jesus Christ, on March 22, 7:30 p.m.; and March 23, 3 p.m., at the Cultural Center of the Philippines’ Tanghalang Aurelio Tolentino (Little Theater).


Directed by Lou Veloso, “Martir Sa Golgota” features around 70 actors, mostly volunteer residents of Sta. Ana, and guest TV, movie and stage personalities like Jojo Riguera and Al Gatmaitan (alternating as Jesus Christ), Bodjie Pascua, Archie Adamos, Don Umali, Ces Aldaba, Troy de Guzman, Perry Escano, Andy Bais and Rita de Guzman, among other performers.


Manila Mobile Theater was born in September 1989. It was founded by Councilor Lou Veloso, himself an accomplished and multiawarded film-television-stage actor.


The group initially had 75 active members and was primarily organized to help out-of-school youths, students, professionals, laborers, vendors and workers hone their talents in acting for theater. They became part of various plays that were mostly mounted in the Plaza Hugo community stage and, later on, in the Sta. Ana Arts Center, a small indoor theater built through the initiative of Veloso, with assistance from the Manila government officials and other donors.


“Martir sa Golgota” is presented to the public in selected venues from Holy Monday to Black Saturday.  Throughout the years, it has attracted celebrities and theater actors who have performed in it pro bono.


An interesting aspect of Martir is its contemporary improvisational factor. The “road to Calvary” is convoyed on the streets of the community, giving the audience a close-up of Christ’s passion. Through the years, Tanghalang Sta. Ana has also remolded this theater classic for contemporary audiences by injecting current social issues.


Other performers include CJ Mangahis, Abel Napuran, Richard Manabat, Jojo Bolado, Arkin Da Silva, Haydee Arima, Mira Hipolito, Jenny Navarro, Roxanne Hipolito, Apple Garay, Norbi Lilagan, Jan Michael Sarabia, Jennet Quiblatin, Kristine Gabriel, Darius Nicolas, Rafael Hipolito, Ryan Jay Rafael, Mark Tulipat, John Paul Razon, Rodolfo Muyuela and Miguel Lara.


Ticket price is P400 with discounts. For details, contact CCP 8321125 loc. 1606-1607. For inquiries and other details, call 5275221 or 5271685.


Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.