Nat’l Book Awards: UST Publishing House named Publisher of the Year | Lifestyle.INQ

OCTOBER 27, 2022

The University of Santo Tomas Publishing House will be named Publisher of the Year at the 32nd National Book Awards next month.


Handed out yearly by the Manila Critics Circle and the National Book Development Board (NBDB), the National Book Awards recognize the best of the previous year’s locally published books.


The winners were announced Thursday at the NBDB offices in Pasig City. The winners will receive a cash prize as well as trophies made by award-winning sculptor Michael Cacnio.


The 32nd National Book Awards will be given on Nov. 16, 5:30 p.m., at the Garden Ballroom, EDSA Shangri-La Manila, Mandaluyong City.


It will be UST Publishing House’s fourth time to be named Publisher of the Year, having previously received the honor in 2002, 2004 and 2010.


Complete list of winners


Juan C. Laya Prize for Best Novel in a Philippine Language: “Sa Kasunod ng 909” by Edgar Calabia Samar (University of Santo Tomas Publishing House);


Juan C. Laya Prize for Best Novel in a Foreign Language: “Margosatubig: The Story of Salagunting” by Ma. Cecilia Locsin-Nava, translated from “Margosatubig” (1946) by Ramon L. Muzones (Ateneo de Manila University Press);


Cirilo F. Bautista Prize for Best Book of Short Fiction in English: “After the Body Displaces Water” by Daryll Delgado (UST Publishing House);


Best Book of Nonfiction Prose in English: “Hour After Dawn: The Fall and Uncertain Rise of the Philippine Supreme Court” by Marites Dañguilan Vitug (Cleverheads Publishing);


Best Book of Nonfiction Prose in Filipino: “Mga Angst ng Isang Di-Mahapayang Gatang” by Resty Mendoza Ceña (Visual Print Enterprises);


Best Book of Nonfiction Prose in Kapampangan: “Gálè at Gósu: Para Karing Mal A Patulunan” by Crispin Nacpil Cadiang (Center for Kapampangan Studies of Holy Angel University);


Best Anthology in English: “Hoard of Thunder: Philippine Short Stories in English, 1990 to 2008,” two volumes, edited by Gémino H. Abad (University of the Philippines Press);


Philippine Literary Arts Council Prize for Best Book of Poetry in English: “Pictures as Poems & Other (Re) Visions” by Marne Kilates (UST Publishing House);


Best Book of Poetry in Filipino: “Isa Lang ang Pangalan” by Rebecca T. Añonuevo (UST Publishing House);


Best Book of Poetry in Kapampangan: “Kawatásan: Obrang Poeta Laureado” by Joel Pabustan Mallari (Center for Kapampangan Studies of Holy Angel University);


Isagani R. Cruz Prize for Best Book of Literary Criticism or Literary History in a Philippine Language: “Halos Isang Buhay: Ang Manananggal sa Pagsusulat ng Nobela” by Edgar Calabia Samar (UST Publihing House);


Best Graphic Novel in English: “Trese 5: Midnight Tribunal” by Ferdinand Benedict G. Tan and Jonathan A. Baldisimo (Visprint);


Best Graphic Novel in Filipino: “Zsazsa Zaturnnah sa Kalakhang Maynila # 1” by Carlo Vergara (Visprint);


Alfonso Ongpin Prize for Best Book on Art: “Sacrificial Bodies: The Oblation and the Political Aesthetics of Masculine Representations in Philippine Visual Cultures” by Reuben Ramas Cañete (UP Press) and “Walking through Philippine Theater,” three volumes by Basilio Esteban S. Villaruz (UST Publishing House);


Best Book on the Professions: “The Political Supreme Court” by Pacifico A. Agabin (UP Press);


Elfren S. Cruz Prize for Best Book in the Social Sciences: “Perspectives on Philippine Languages: Five Centuries of European Scholarship” by Marlies S. Salazar (ADMU Press);


Best Book in Science: “Shades of Majesty: 88 Philippine Native Trees” by Pastor Malabrigo Jr. and James LaFrankie Jr. (Wide Angle Media and Project Brio Media House);


Best Book of Leisure: “Savor the Word: Ten Years of the Doreen Gamboa Fernandez Food Writing Award” edited by Michaela Fenix, Maya Besa Roxas and Felice Prudente Sta. Maria (Anvil Publishing, Inc.);


Komisyon ng Wikang Filipino Prize: “Ibaloy: Dictionary, Phonology, Grammar, Morphophonemics,” Lee Ballard, main compiler (UP Cordillera Studies Center and Diteng Inc.);


Best Design: “The Magic Circle” by Gilda Cordero Fernando, designed by Ani V. Habúlan and Ibarra Crisostomo (Anvil Publishing);


Publisher of the Year: University of Santo Tomas Publishing House


Founded in 1981, the Manila Critics Circle (MCC) is a nonprofit, nonstock organization of professional literary critics and newspaper columnists who believe that Philippine books deserve much more attention than they usually get from business, media and the general public. Membership in the Circle is strictly by invitation: a unanimous vote is required before anyone is invited to become a member.


Members are National Artist for Literature Virgilio S. Almario, Juaniyo Arcellana, Cirilo F. Bautista, Roger J. Bresnahan, Isagani R. Cruz, Ruel S. De Vera, Shirley O. Lua, Resil B. Mojares, Danton Remoto, Soledad S. Reyes and Joel Pablo Salud.


In 2008, the MCC entered into an agreement with the NBDB to institutionalize the National Book Awards with the NBDB to better honor Philippine publishers and authors.

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.