‘Filipino Para Sa Filipino’ | Inquirer Lifestyle

Five key takeaways from Emmys night

Netflix was the big winner at Sunday’s Emmys, bagging best drama and limited series awards for “The Crown” and “The Queen’s Gambit” to…
Since the pandemic hit, a lot of questions surfaced regarding the future of fashion rental. But there is one question which stands out,…
DENNIS Lustico bag

‘Filipino Para Sa Filipino’

DENNIS Lustico bag

The country’s leading accessories designers will auction off their works during “Filipino Para sa Filipino,” the mega-fundraiser for the rehabilitation of the Visayas, which has been devastated by Supertyphoon “Yolanda.”


More than 100 Filipino fashion designers and models will participate in the event tonight, Nov. 29, 6 p.m., at Samsung Hall of SM Aura, Bonifacio Global City, Taguig. At least P1,000 donation from each guest will be accepted at the entrance.


Participating accessories designers are Amina Aranaz Alunan, Joanique by Malou Romero, Ken Samudio, Serafina, Hindy Weber Tantoco, Angela Angeles, Joyce Makitalo, Nicole Whisenhunt, Maco Custodio, Lally Dizon, Natalya Lagdameo, Amarie, Dennis Lustico, Beatriz, Michelline Syjuco, Janina Dizon and Adante Leyesa.


All the fashion designers, models, fashion show directors and their technical suppliers are doing this for free.


The leading fashion retail brands in the country are also joining, led by SM, Rustan’s and SSI, Robinsons, Suyen Group (Bench) and Folded & Hung.

KEN Samudio clutch


To walk the runway are the 2013 Bb. Pilipinas titleholders led by Miss Universe third runner-up Ariella Arida, Bb. Pilipinas-International Bea Santiago, Bb. Pilipinas first runner-up Pia Wurtzbach, Miss Supranational Mutya Datul and Bb. Pilipinas-Tourism Cindy Miranda.


The entire proceeds will be turned over to Tabang Visayas (www.tabangvisayas.net), an umbrella of various civil society organizations led by reputable foundations that are now focused on the rehabilitation of the typhoon-devastated areas in the Visayas.


Civic event


Among these are Assisi Development Foundation, Ayala Foundation, Metrobank Foundation, Philam Foundation, Philippine Daily Inquirer, Unilab Foundation, Zuellig Family Foundation, CBCP-Caritas Filipinas Foundation, Hands-On Manila Foundation, Hope Canada, and Hope Japan.


ARANAZ clutch

The big civic event was conceived by fashion show directors Jackie Aquino and Robby Carmona, fashion designers Randy Ortiz, JC Buendia and Edgar San Diego just last week. Participating are major groups of fashion designers—the Fashion Design Council of the Philippines (FDCP), Fashion Designers Association of the Philippines (FDAP) and the designers who don’t belong to any organization.


SM has committed the free use of the venue at SM Aura.  Lights and sounds  are by Forsc Ink, stage by Boy Regala, and LED and video by VideoSonic.


Fashion show director Ogee Atos is also lending a hand.


Emcees for the event are Tessa Prieto-Valdes and Trishan Cuaso.


Slim’s is sending its students as backstage volunteers.

JOYCE Makitalo ring


The models belong to the Professional Models Association of the Philippines (PMAP), Mercator, Reco, Ideal and CalCarries.


Participating designers from the FDCP are JC Buendia, Randy Ortiz, Jojie Lloren,  Dong Omaga Diaz, Joey Samson, Ivarluski Aseron, Vittorio Barba, Gerry Katigbak, Frederick Peralta, Rajo Laurel, Len Nepomuceno, Hindy Weber-Tantoco, Ramon Esteban, PJ Aranador, Edwin Ao, Oj Hofer,  Arcy Gayatin, Tippi Ocampo,  Avel Bacudio, Jerome Salaya Ang, Joel Escober, Anthony Nocom, Albert Andrada, Noel Crisostomo, Ronaldo Arnaldo,  Kristel Yulo, Happy Andrada,  Pablo Cabahug, and  James Reyes.


From FDAP are Johnny Abad, Ricky Abad, Dexter Alaza, Nino Angeles, Delby Bragais, Karen Castro, Kirby Cruz, Ivan de la Cruz, Perry Diaz, Lynn Roxas,   Boyet Dysanco, Ricco Escaro,  Rocky Gathercole, Genar Gozum, Pristine de Guzman,   Adin Lara, Paul Ranier Lim,  Noelle Llave, Edgar Madamba,  Jontie Martinez, Nikkie Martinez, Ole Morabe, Vivo Nazareth, Dave Ocampo, Lito Perez, Nholie Pilapil, Joyce Pilarsky, Aan Pineda, Raoul Ramirez, Yako Reyes, Rholand Roxas, Edgar San Diego, Fanny Serrano, Edwin Uy, Simon Ariel Vasquez and Geoffrey Zordilla.


The independent designers are Jun Escario, Michelle Sison, Patrice Ramos Diaz, Charina Sarte, Cary Santiago, Dennis Lustico, John Paras, Bea Albert, Eric de los Santos, Maureen Disini, Vania Romoff, Martin Bautista, John/Paul Herrera, Ronald Mendoza, Audie Espino, Sidney Perez Sio, Goullee Gorospe, Raoul Ramirez and Peter Lim.


The country’s design icons Inno Sotto, Auggie Cordero, Pepito Albert, Cesar Gaupo, Lulu Tan-Gan, Mike de la Rosa, Loretto and Efren Ocampo are also joining.

MACO Collar


The dean of Filipino fashion designers, Ben Farrales, will also participate.


Participating hairstylists and makeup artists are Henri Calayag, Jing Monis, Patrick Rosas, Ginno Alducente, Dylan Chua, Ariane Gamboa, Giorgia Reyes, Red Sarmiento, Eric Maningat, Buknoy Mateo, Peps Eugenio, Jing Monis Salon and Famous by F&H Salon.


Call Connie Kalagayan at 8994426 or e-mail [email protected], and Bianca Kasilag at 8978808 local 352 or e-mail [email protected]