Students’ proposal to improve public transport system wins top prize in competition | Inquirer Lifestyle
The Node

Students’ proposal to improve public transport system wins top prize in competition

The Node

The Node, a proposal to improve the public transportation system in the country by Team Powerhouse from the architecture program of De La Salle-College of Saint Benilde, was recently recognized as the champion at the recently concluded Projéto Ideas & Design Competition of Worldbex Wired, the leading building and construction trade show in the Philippines.

The contest challenged students and young professionals from the architecture and engineering industry to design an efficient intermodal transportation terminal that can accommodate three types of utility vehicles for systematic transfers. It should be able to serve approximately 4,000 passengers per hour and could be developed within a 100-meter x 100-meter Metro Manila site.

The Node, a mixed-mode commuting passenger facility which serves as a focal point to pedestrian and vehicular circulation in multiple destinations in and out of the metro, was envisioned to be located in Ermita, Manila. It proposes modern systems to address the issues on consistency and regularity of services such as the light railway system.

The design generates community development through shared spaces and highlights the existing cultural context of the area. It features structural elements that blend in and reflect the key historical landmarks in its proximity.

“By providing an efficient intermodal transportation that anchored mainly on its network system and circulation, we introduce a new identity of shared transportation spaces,” the group explained. In time, this may change the mindset of Filipinos in using public transportation as their main source of travel.”

Under the mentorship of architect Ronald John Dalmacio, Team Powerhouse is comprised of architecture students Sebastian Francisco, Kiara Abcede, Gabriel Espiritu, Alfonso Datuin and Jerome Jacildo.

Kawingan by the MMG+ Architects Team from Batangas State University was named first runner-up. Lawton Intermodal Transport Exchange by MSSG Architects Team of University of Santo Tomas finished second runner-up, followed by Perpetual Motions by Arcureate Team from Bulacan State University.